1910 Society Member


Founded in 1910, the Boy Scouts of America has grown into something larger and more significant than anyone anticipated. We honor that special date by presenting the 1910 Society award to donors who make gifts of $25,000 or more to their council’s endowments. These gifts can be in the form of cash, securities, land, five-year pledges, or other property suitable for a council endowment fund or easily converted to cash. There are four levels of recognition in the 1910 Society that honor four very special individuals who shaped modern-day Scouting.

  1. Ernest Thompson Seton, nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook. $25,000 min.
  2. Daniel Carter Beard, first chairman of the National Court of Honor, national Scout commissioner, and author of many books for youth. $100,000 min.
  3. Theodore Roosevelt, first Chief Scout Citizen, first vice president of the BSA, and president of the United States. $500,000 min.
  4. Waite Phillips, one of the BSA’s first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of 130,000 acres of land which became Philmont Scout Ranch. Phillips Level: $1,000,000 minimum gift; Phillips Silver Level: $5,000,000 minimum gift; Phillips Gold Level: $10,000,000 minimum gift

1910 Society Members

(Ernest Thompson Seton)
Mr. and Mrs. Warren Ayres
Mr. and Mrs. D. Phil Bolin
Mr. and Mrs. John David Davenport
Mr. Joe Hughes (In memory)
Mr. Art Litteken, Sr.
Mr. Hardy McAlister
Mr. and Mrs. Neil McMullen
Mrs. Betty Lee Perry
Mr. & Mrs. T.J. Waggoner, Jr.* (In memory)

(Daniel Carter Beard) 
Mr. and Mrs. D. Phil Bolin

(Theodore Roosevelt)
Mr. and Mrs. D. Phil Bolin

“The only things we keep permanently are those things we give away.” – Waite Philips